Velvet Underground Documentary Airing This October

Velvet Underground Documentary Airing This October

1970: (L-R) Doug Yule, Lou Reed, Maureen "Moe" Tucker and Sterling Morrison of the rock and roll band "Velvet Underground" pose for a portrait in 1970. (Photo by Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images)

Photo by Michael Ochs/Getty Images

The Velvet Underground: A Documentary Film by Todd Haynes will be hitting the theaters and Apple TV on October 15th this year.

The film will feature rare footage and interviews of the band as well as material from renowned pop artist of the 1960s Andy Warhol. Warhol collaborated with and managed The Velvet Underground during their fame and helped launch them into stardom so it seems certain the late artist’s footage will be enthralling.

A 2-CD soundtrack for the documentary will also be available the same day of the release. Velvet Underground songs will be included along with other rock ‘n’ roll songs of the same time period.

The Velvet Underground formed in 1964 in New York City with that true New York alternative sound popular in the city at the time. The band originally consisted of members Lou Reed as the lead singer/guitarist, multi-instrumentalist John Cale, guitarist Sterling Morrison, and drummer Angus MacLise (who was replaced by Moe Tucker in 1965). The band’s underground and experimental sound with controversial lyrics helped influence the punk and new wave music that would follow. The Velvet Underground broke up in 1973, but reformed multiple times throughout the 1990s.

Watch the documentary trailer here:

Soundtrack Song List:
Disc 1
1. “Venus In Furs” – The Velvet Underground
2. “The Wind” – The Diablos
3. “17 XII 63 NYC The Fire Is A Mirror (excerpt)” – The Theatre of Eternal Music
4. “Heroin [mono]” – The Velvet Underground
5. “Road Runner (Live)” – Bo Diddley
6. “The Ostrich” – The Primitives
7. “I’m Waiting For The Man” – The Velvet Underground
8. “Chelsea Girls” – Nico
9. “Sunday Morning” – The Velvet Underground

Disc 2
1. “Sister Ray (Live)” – The Velvet Underground
2. “Pale Blue Eyes” – The Velvet Underground
3. “Foggy Notion” – The Velvet Underground
4. “After Hours (Live)” Version 1 – The Velvet Underground
5. “Sweet Jane” – The Velvet Underground
6. “Ocean” – The Velvet Underground
7. “All Tomorrow’s Parties” – The Velvet Underground


Concert Calendar

Featured Events